2020 Scholarship Program

The Greater Austin Contractors and Engineers Association (ACEA) is a non-profit association dedicated to promoting the business interests of engineers who design our streets, roads, utilities, and drainage facilities; the contractors who build them, and the associate member firms who supply the materials, equipment, and services.

ACEA strives to improve this community through a scholarship program providing financial support to graduating high school seniors who plan to enter the engineering and construction field of study. The number of scholarships awarded each year is set by the ACEA Board of Directors.

2020 Scholarship Information

  • ACEA awards up to four (4) general scholarships and one James “Jim” Brewer Memorial Scholarship  to be awarded in 2020.
  • Deadline is April 1, 2020 and applies to both the General and Memorial Scholarships.
  • Scholarship application packets must be mail postmarked or otherwise  scanned and emailed to info@aceatx.com no later than 5 PM on the deadline date.
  • Applications delivered to the office are not accepted or considered.
  • Incomplete applications without the required documents will not be considered.

We also offer Symposium Scholarships for qualified applicants. Learn More Here.


Congratulations to the 2019 Scholarship Winners!

Scholarships Advance Construction and Engineering Fields

(Josh Sharpe, Pamela Sharpe, Matthew Hortenstine, David Hortenstine, Astrid Jackson, Nick Jackson, and Sarah Dunn-Cantu, ACEA Board President.)

ACEA has been awarding scholarships to area graduating high school seniors pursuing degrees in construction and engineering fields since 2004.

The scholarship committee selected three individuals to receive a $2,000 scholarship.  With the scholarships awarded this year, we have reached the $215,000 mark awarded to 60 students since the inception of the program.

Scholarship recipients are eligible to receive $2,000 their first year and if they maintain a 3.0 or higher, grade point average, they are eligible for a second $3,000 award.

The 2019 recipients are:

  • Matthew Hortenstine, a graduate of Taylor High School. He plans a double major in business and engineering at Texas A&M. Matthew wants to put his degree to work helping people after natural disasters.
  • Astrid Jackson is a graduate of Ann Richards School for Young Women Leaders, and plans to major in construction management at Texas Tech University. She is a participant of the ACE Mentor Program, and has interned with the City’s Planning & Zoning Department and Roger O’Brien Construction.
  • Josh Sharpe graduated from Bastrop High School and confesses to being addicted to math. He has organized several fundraising events for charitable organizations in his community.  Josh plans to attend Trinity University and wants to own his own engineering firm someday.